The Truth

It is said that “honesty is the best policy” and “the truth shall set you free.”

I believe in these principles.

I have found, in my own life, especially in recent times, that sharing a shameful or embarrassing truth with people who actually care about you often changes it from your own problem into a problem you and your loved ones can work on together.

It removes it from a shameful, dark, hidden thing and transforms it into something that can be dealt with. In other words, talking about an issue is the first step towards developing a plan of action.

Those who truly love you and accept you as a human being who will not always be perfect will continue to feel that you are important to them and will want you to succeed in your struggle. Assuming you are struggling with the issue or problem genuinely, and actually want to solve it.

I can not, in this forum, openly discuss something that I am currently dealing with because this is far too public. However, I will be able to clarify what I’m talking about at some point in the future.

Some people who are close to me know all of the details and the entire situation, and they have embraced me and helped me through each step of the way.

I’m writing this post for two reasons. Firstly, to give thanks to those who have stood by me during an extremely trying time even though I screwed up badly and made poor choices and created the situation I am in. Secondly, to illustrate to anyone reading this that if you’re struggling with something where you’ve screwed up, the best thing for you to do is to let it out and tell those closest to you what you’ve done. This is true I would imagine in most situations. You’ll feel better for not hiding the issue any more and they’ll feel better because you trusted them with your flaws and vulnerabilities.

It will strengthen true relationships, and maybe illuminate the ones who are not so true. This, at least, has been the case in my personal experience.

About rbwaters

I'm a guy who loves his family and friends, enjoys writing, acting, political discussions, tech stuff, movies and certain TV shows (mostly cable).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

